cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

setting up recipe for looping through items with individual api authorizations

rm135
Deputy Chef II
Deputy Chef II

Workato newbie here, I'm wondering how to migrate an existing coded workflow to workato. 

I loop through a data structure of buildings each with their own api key, and each building has 1 or more tills, each with their own api key for a different cloud service 

e.g.

data = [
    {
        "name": 'property1',
        "ID": 'someGUID',
        "propertyapikey":keyring.get_password('property1', 'property1key'),
        "tills": [
            "till1": keyring.get_password('till1', 'till1key'),
            "till2": keyring.get_password('till2', 'till2key')
        ]
    },
    {
        "name": 'property2',
        "ID": 'someGUID',
        "propertyapikey":keyring.get_password('property2', 'property2key'),
        "tills": [
            "till1": keyring.get_password('till1', 'till1key')
        ]
    }
]

I'm wondering the best way to approach this in workato with storing api keys somewhere, plus my data structure of things to loop through. The lookup table or project settings seem to be simple key value pairs. I could begin my recipe with this data structure defined in the output of a python script, but then all my keys are plain text. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

gary1
Executive Chef III
Executive Chef III

This is all possible to do, but the complexity of your recipes depends on how securely you want to manage the API keys. Task efficiency is also important, but it's not worth discussing until security requirements are understood.

Here are Workato's best practices for sensitive data. In my opinion, following these can often overcomplicate recipe creation, especially in your situation where you need to hot swap API keys: https://docs.workato.com/recipes/recipe-security.html#handling-sensitive-data